Better & Faster showroom (for livery creation)

Discussion in 'Wish Lists' started by Fabio Pittol, Mar 9, 2019.

1. Fabio Pittol

Fabio Pittol Registered

Hello, although this is the appropriate section, I'm not sure if the developers keep checking here, but worth the try.

Well, I've been creating liveries for a while now (actually since 2004 - and even did a lot for the Reiza titles) and recently tested the stuff with the new shader (result here). Oh boy, what a paint it was!!!

I've always visualize the cars outside of the game, generally on a 3d software, but lately I created a PBR showroom with Marmoset Toolbag, which is what I used to paint some of the JT5 Shiro cars (see here).

Since the release of the DLCs, all the files are encrypted and I understand that, but the ultimate solution of loading the game, saving a DDS & reloading the showroom every time you make a small change is simply unfeasible. Let alone the lack of camera freedom or worse, the weird lightning preventing you from visualize the right side and rear of the car.

Even the most basic car have separate UV islands on its template that require some work to match the layout. And everyone that tried to paint a complex car (i.e. DTM) and/or a very detailed scheme knows how many times you have to save and check until the pixels are matching.

I even when ahead and did some comparisons between the 2 procedures:

Save .PSD + Marmoset Toolbag
    Saving the PSD file: 5 seconds (just CTRL+S)
    Reloading the livery: 2 seconds (automatic)

Save .DDS + rF2 Showroom

Saving the DDS file: 20 seconds (as DXT5)
    Reloading the livery: 6 seconds (press Reload)

That's 19 seconds of extra waiting every time you move a piece of layout a few pixels until it matches. And just for the front + left side, for the rest you need to check the car on track, which take a least 10 more seconds.

------------------------------------------------------------------

My sugestions would be:

1) Standalone Viewer