details about Real Road

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Lumin0u, Jan 9, 2018.

1. Lumin0u

Lumin0u Registered

Hi

After some research I have not found some details I'm wondering about the Real Road feature.
    Important note: I don't really know how it "happens" in real life so sorry in advance if my questions are dumb.

Do the amount of rubber and the speed the rubber is put on track depend on the type of car and the type of tyre (which depends on the type of car) that are used?

Does it happens quicker without abs and tc (for example with a gt3 car)?

Thanks and sorry for my broken English

2. davehenrie

davehenrie Registered

I have no knowledge of the workings of realroad, but real life might help. Track rubber build-up is not so much black streaks laid down by tires that have locked up and are grinding away at a flat spot. Tracks get rubbered in by the repetitive driving around the track by many cars for many laps. The natural contact with the track surface scrubs away small particles of rubber from the tire and some of that is compressed into the crevasses of the asphalt/track material. When the rubber tire makes contact with more of it's own rubber pressed into the road surface, the better the grip. So TC or ABS shouldn't make much difference, the only spot where the extra build up by a locked up tire would only occur where that black strip is. Very difficult to use marks on the track surface to improve one's grip, especially since that strip is most likely the result of a mistake and would not represent the best line around a corner.
    The real key to varying buildup of rubber on a track is two-fold.

1. The track surface. A very smooth surface has less rough edges to scrape the tire's surface and fewer tiny crack to stuff the rubber into.