How to reduce oversteer?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Amanda Santini, Oct 10, 2017.

1. Amanda Santini

Amanda Santini Registered

With the Apex GT3 MOD, some cars drive beautifully and have a proper steering-to-wheel-movement ratio, like on the Porsche 997, the Ferrari 458, the MP4-12C.

But on other cars, like the SLS, the Z4, the Corvette Z06-R, they steer too much. To put it simply: I have to steer less than a real-world driver, the steering is way too sensitive. If, say, to do Eau Rouge a real driver has to turn his wheel 90º to each side, on these cars I have to turn 20º or so. This makes the steering not precise.

Since I'm a complete newbie when it comes to setup, I need to ask: what can I do to reduce the oversteer and induce understeer?

2. Jon

Jon Registered

If you do a search on Google for rFactor 2 setup guide, you should easily find two downloadable PDFs; an advanced one and a basic one.

I too am not an expert, but for starters you could try reducing the Caster, this should fix the the overtly sensitive steering. You could also try reducing the steering lock ratio. But it's important to test each change individually.

Sorry I can't help anymore but I'm not an expert myself. I have found that some guys on the servers are extremely friendly and do readily share their setups and give tips on setting up the car. I've received various setups for the Brabham BT20 each greatly affecting the handling in different ways.

A (very) handy function is the Compare setup which allows you to compare your loaded setup with another to see the differences.

Amanda Santini likes this.
  3. patchedupdemon

patchedupdemon Registered

Sound like a steering issue which Jon has answered.

But if it's oversteer not caused by low degs or steering rotation then I'll try to help further.

Is it turn in oversteer,or steady state oversteer,I.e the back end kicks out mid corner,or does the car want to spin under braking or when you turn in