New driver guide?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Tackset, Jun 27, 2017.

1. Tackset

Tackset Registered

Hi all,

I am new to rFactor2 and struggling a bit to find my way around. I believe i have seen a new driver guide a while back when i was running the demo, but can't seem to find it anymore.

Some of the initial questions i have:
    • How do I set the optimal FFB strength and how to tell if my wheel is clipping? (edit: found this Guide: Optimal FFB settings for rFactor 2 - The key to being in the "Zone" :D -- Download: Pedal Overlay Plugin (dx9 only atm))
    • Where can i set the horizontal FOV? (edit: ah right. rF2 uses vertical FOV only, scrap this question)
    • Important keyboard shortcuts (can i move UI components? The 'LCD' screen is masking the rear view dash display in the Megane)
    • What Plugins are important to have? There are probably a few that nearly everybody is running?
    • I am looking for a 'relative box' telling me the drivers ahead and behind me and my interval. Especially useful for rejoining the track and trying not to mess up others' races. (edit: 4 key brings up the position bar)
    • I miss a spotter telling me if i have someone next to me, do i need the crew chief plugin for this?
    • What would you guys consider a good car / track combo to get familiar with rfactor? I generally prefer the more recent tin-top cars with limited HP. On iRacing i normally drive the MX5 cup car.
    • And finally, where can I jump in a live session to run some practice laps with others?
    I figured out that it is most helpful to unmap the Neutral assignment, so that i can use paddle shifters to get back in Reverse (again for recovering for yet another spin). I also have auto clutch enabled.
    Any other configuration i should consider?

Appreciate your pointers!

Last edited: Jun 27, 2017
  2. Tackset

Tackset Registered

3. Mister Bronze

Mister Bronze Registered