Are mods becomming unrealistically fast now?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Boldaussie, Mar 29, 2016.

1. Boldaussie

Boldaussie Registered

Hi Peoples,

I am a very average driver and am finding I am, with a little practice and setup, able to run on tracks at real world times based on the real world class times. I am usually driving gt3 with a very average wheel and computer setup..
    This is fine, but completely unrealistic. There are many drivers ( not aliens ) who are multiple seconds ( not just tenths ) a lap quicker than the real world times per track and class. For race duration and not just hotlapping.
    Is this just a symptom of the newer tyre model or almost a competition between mods/modders to be faster than another regardless of the actual model supposed to be emulating the real world cars and tracks, therefore times achievable?

I personally, would rather be 3 seconds off real world times chasing the guys who are able to run close to real world times.

Thoughts?

2. Guineapiggy

Guineapiggy Registered

Which tracks? Which cars? What conditions? What wear/load/rubber/temp settings? Remember that sims allow you to sustain already unrealistically ideal conditions for one, and, for another, most mod tracks and cars aren't accurate to the degree you'd be able to back-to-back times. It's not that people are overestimating a car's capabilites, they're straight-up guessing for some factors and in others working with engine limitations.

3. stonec

stonec Registered

It was always the case with mods, they generally opt for tires that can stand way too much load in all directions and FFB that is artificially bumped up. It was the same with rF1, most F1 mods you could drive 3-5 seconds quicker than real F1 car of same year. Most (not all!) mod-makers have no idea about physics, especially with rF2 tire model they don't even bother and just copy the ISI tire or a tire from another mod.

4. Boldaussie

Boldaussie Registered