Benefits of steam?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Navigator, Nov 29, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Navigator

Navigator Registered

Hi guys,

As some kind of nOOb to steam, I have a few questions. ("Some kind of" means; had an experience with it a 1000 years ago and didn't like it at ALL........but; I have very little experience with it/don't know how it works and so on)

I see people having bought this game and now purchase a "steam one" too. I ask myself why?
    Reading that kind of posts, I start to wonder:
    - is it (going to be) the only way to race online?
    - is it going to be the only way to get updates?
    - is it going to be the only way to get 3th party mods?

I mean; I read about modders "needing" to go to the steam workshop and such.......

I don't like paying for 1 game twice, but do I get it right when I think the "normal" game is going to be dressed down/dead and we are all going to be "pushed into" buying the steam variant? Just to get 3th party mods and be able to race online?
    If so; I better start looking for another game......mods is what made rF1 big/attractive for me and as I said; I don't like to be forced in paying twice for something.

2. Bjørn

Bjørn Registered

I regret my Steam migration, but only because of one thing - not being able to use older builds for league racing... If I was to try and race in my old league, I would need to buy the game (non-Steam) again.

Everything else is like it's always been, really... The addition of the workshop is a plus... The join friends function also works... sort of - Steam/the game has taken some time to figure out what to do once that's been clicked...

Once the Steam-players are shown in the matchmaker it'll hopefully also appear more populated...

If I were you, I'd stick with what you have!

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 29, 2015
  3. Justy

Justy Registered