Mod Created Cars vs. ISI Created Cars

Discussion in 'Third Party Content' started by traind, Feb 6, 2015.

1. traind

traind Registered

I am relatively new to RF2. One trend I have noticed is that ISI cars tend to be significantly more sensitive to throttle and brake application than the vast majority of mod created cars I have tried. I am comparing mod created to ISI cars in the default set up.

There are lots of examples in both GT3 or GT3 like cars or F1 cars. What do you think causes this? Is it a much more aggressive-- toward oversteer/rotation-- ISI default set up than mod created cars? Or perhaps the intent of the modders is to have the cars stick more and be easier to drive? Or some access to data that ISI has that modders do not that produces easier to drive cars in the community?

2. WiZPER

WiZPER Registered

I think you are generalizing a great deal here, so can't really go into that argument.

3. wgeuze

wgeuze Registered

Lack of proper data will likely make them stick to easier to drive cars I think, doesn't make them more realistic though (but not bad per se)! With ISI cars I never doubt
    they are as accurate as they can get them within limits (believe it or not, not every manufacturer is giving away all data you'd want and when they do
    some of it can be slightly off or incomplete on purpose...) while in most mod cars I just accept the fact that most of the 'numbers' are all made up.

Same thing with tracks, all such is to be expected, as a company, you just don't issue cad/dem/lidar/vehicle dynamics/verhicle model - data out to any
    hobbyist, simply no use/benefit for it and you don't want to that data out there unless you can trust the party you sent it to (especially when there are is money involved,
    even with professional simulation companies, manufacturers don't neccesarily share 100% of the data and/or leave certain unknows/holes, to make sure when the competition