Absolutely amazing...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kotakotakota, Jul 29, 2014.

1. kotakotakota

kotakotakota Registered

I currently work as a roboticist at a small startup on some really exciting high profile contract projects so all of my personal time has been whisked away and funneled into a continuous cycle of development, learning, and not getting enough sleep. Pulled up RF2 today for the first time in a long while (think on the scale of months), installed the latest update, as well as the latest Nords. First thing I notice... the instantaneous load time to get to the main menu. Nice!

Oh, now would be a good time to mention that I got a new GPU lately because I use a lot of CUDA at work and my NVIDA GTX 260 was showing it's age with so many critical features unsupported. I upgraded to a GTX 770 with 4 gigs of GDDR5 to play with at home.

So, needless to say, loaded up Darche with 30 cars at Nords with full graphics settings and started driving. Oh my, what a difference compared to just a few months ago. I know there are a number of factors here; the updates ISI put out, in particular the 64 bit release, the huge upgrade from the 260 to the 770, the combined efforts of pleclair, DJC, and Tosch on the Nurburgring, the increased framerate and the improved graphical settings, but still... It doesn't even feel like remotely the same sim it did before. Maybe my next upgrade should be a new wheel :)