Game Controller Advice

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Steampunk, Jan 5, 2014.

1. Steampunk

Steampunk Registered

Hi rFactor2 racers, I'm new to the game and looking for advice on what game controller I should get. My Budget is about $200 and looking for a decent wheel, shifter and 3-peddle combo. Granted this is going to be a low-budget entry but I need something to get me going. I don't mind buying used and from what I have been able to research the only game controller out there at this price point WAS the Logitech G25. The G27 looks like the successor to the G25 and goes for about $275 if you shop around, a little high for me so the question is what else is out there that would be a good starter setup for rFactor2? I looked at Logitech's Driving Force GT but no clutch - that is where I have to draw the line, I do want a clutch - otherwise I would view rFactor2 as a high-end arcade game losing much of its' sim potential. Thanks in advance for any advice you can give this newbie.

2. Guy Moulton

Guy Moulton Registered

For your budget, your only real choice is to spend a little more and get the G27.

that said, at this point the clutch in rF2 is pretty much useless.

3. Steampunk

Steampunk Registered

Thanks Guybo, is the clutch useless because FF sux (can't ride the engagement into gears) or is it because of peddle pressure (or both)?

4. [NAR]Steve

[NAR]Steve Registered

5. kaptainkremmen

kaptainkremmen Registered

Gearbox/clutch model isn't fully implemented yet in RF2. btw very few shifter/pedal combos have any FFB or can block the shift when mismatched revs etc. The most you can really hope for is hitting a neutral (and noise) when you get it wrong, RF2 doesn't do this at the moment.

6. Steampunk

Steampunk Registered

Thanks for the input kaptainkremmen and link Steve, looks like maybe G27 is my only close option.

7. Steampunk

Steampunk Registered