Thoughts about improvements in modding support.

Discussion in 'Modding' started by LeStrat, Oct 27, 2013.

1. LeStrat

LeStrat Registered

I would like to share what I think about support to modders and how it could be improved.

I have been working for a long time as an SAP developer first and admin in the later years and I've always thought that SAP error handling should be a must. Yo have in-application extremely detailed error handling, in-application log-analysis and millions of text file logs which help you to find the root cause of what's going on.

I've been modding for rFactor2 just a couple of months, but I have found that error handlig, at least from the modder point of view is almost inexistent. Today I got CTD both in ptool and ttool, I am sure that it happened because of the files I have modified (chassis.ini and .tgm respectively) but because of the lack of logs I don't know where's my mistake.

I also find that documentation for the apps we have been provided to be able to make mods for rFactor isnt's sufficient at all. Therefore I don't know what will I need to correrct so my chassis and tyres can work properly.

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 28, 2013
  2. Daniel Huia

Daniel Huia Registered

I agree 100%. I have posted questions and get no response from neither admin or those in the know and it is both disheartening and frustrating. Disheartening because it makes me feel as tthough either it was a dumb question or one that no-one could be bothered to answer. Frustrating because I feel stuck and unable to move forward until I resolve the current issue.

I was actually considering my next thread/question being a pleading for a mentor to assist with car modding. Just someone that I can say 'Hey I am trying to do this and I this is happening any suggestions'.

3. Johannes Rojola

Johannes Rojola Registered