Just looking for a few pointers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Minibull, Sep 28, 2012.

1. Minibull

Minibull Member

Hi there all,

I'm new to the rFactor world, and I'm loving it. Bought the beta 2 days ago after seeing some amazing vids on youtube. Pretty much all my previous simming has been in GTR2...and GT Legends :cool:

I'm wanting to try and get a comparison for my laptimes though, and I haven't been able to join any servers for some reason. Maybe it's to do with being in NZ, I'm not sure.

I've managed a 1:25.705 with the Eve F1 around Monaco, and a 1:35.something with the Eve F3, both with the default setup. I don't know how fast that really is, and I also haven't got right into the car setups with the 60's F1 cars. I feel pretty sure I could drop another second off the Eve F1 time with a bit more track learning

Are there any major pointers in regards to car setup with the old F1's? What should my tyre temp profile be?
    I knew how to go about GTR2 for setting up, but this is a whole new kettle of noisy, drifty fish :D

2. 88mphTim

88mphTim racesimcentral.net

Sounds like you're going pretty fast. Maybe this site will help, but worth noting that the major difference with rF2 is that none of you have done laps in exactly the same conditions, like real life. The times still count for something, but always remember that. :)http://rf2.gplrank.info/

3. Minibull

Minibull Member

Ahh cool thanks for that, should help a bit :)

Yeah for sure about the different conditions, tracks temps, etc. I was running with 8 AI so I don't run into too many traffic issues as well, which could be a factor. Hav'nt seen many people in online mode either, which is sad :(
    Managed to get down to a 1:25.217 as I'd mucked a couple of corners. Still on the default setup though, as I still can't figure it out.
    I guess it's going to take a few hours just sitting down and seeing what each parameters effect is.