Blending textures and vertex colouration...

Discussion in 'Track Modding' started by Simon Peace, Aug 1, 2012.

1. Simon Peace

Simon Peace Registered

in feels3 thread about terrain texturing he talks about the following...

"Last step is for final touches. I usually add some colours (mainly dark grays) to the single vertexes.

You can add some darker areas in places where you want.
    Remember to change channel to vertex colour in object properties before you will start changing vertex colours."

and in the track tech document there is reference to texture blending... and making sure you do it after you finish your mesh.

I've never done any of that before and would appreciate someone explaining the process/techniques to help me and others.

Ta
    Simon

2. Radar

Radar Registered

This would be nice combined with Feels thread rather than switching between two or missing this one at a later date..

3. ethone

ethone Registered

What feels3 wrote about making patches or edges or areas darker works on the "Vertex Color" channel. Essentially you can assign a color to a vertex that will paint on top of the texture at that specific vertex. If you assign color values in the monochrome range that boils down to darkening areas, like feels3 suggested. I used it on Fuji for the orange end sections of the guardrails, which would be a non-monochrome example. There is only one guardrail texture used and yet the track has both the standard grey-ish guadrails and the clearly different orange sections.

Texture blending works on the same principle but on a different channel, namely "Vertex Alpha". Instead of painting color on top of the texture, you'll be painting the secondary texture over the primary one. With its strength depending on the vertex alpha value.