Viewing car painting.

Discussion in 'User Interface and HUD Modding' started by D.Painter, Feb 18, 2012.

1. D.Painter

D.Painter Registered

How can this be made easier in rF2?

People have had complaints about rF1 and how you view the new changes to their livery. I found it quite simple and could make a 1 or 2 pixel move to line up things between parts on the templates in a reasonably short time. rF2 is FAR less supportive in this side of modding. The amount of chess moves you need to make for the livery to reload on the spinner after making a simple change it is VERY slow and frustrating. This is even evident on the original rF2 content. Most liveries avoid the need to line parts up between template parts and some show the frustration of those painters were the lines DON'T line up at all. I have cars that I've had to load into the spinner for viewing over 100 times during the construction of the livery.

As a painter I take MY work very seriously. It's MY contribution to the mod teams I work with and this side despite the feeling by some that painting the cars is only a small thing and it doesn't matter that much it dose to those of us that do this work. The UI or Interface of rF2 show the lack of thought given to our HOURS of work and constant need to review our work during the painting process and then to have this work just bypassed in the UI to go straight to the track and ignoring the spinner completely even in the car select menu shows a complete lack of respect of our work by this game.

This is not to show off! This is to show you some small examples of how many times these car need to be review on the spinner. I wouldn't consider doing either in rF2 because of the time and frustration it takes to change the liveries so it reloads the car your working on.
    Corvette4.png

Final2.png

haunetal1990 likes this.
  2. ESP=EWE=

ESP=EWE= Registered

As a fanatic painter myself, I completely agree with you.