Programming for Android

Discussion in 'Plugins' started by Chris English, Feb 14, 2012.

1. Chris English

Chris English Registered

I've got a university project coming up where we have to develop an Android app and I want to do mine using rFactor 2 to make a button box/live telemetry app which shows speed, gear, shift light etc, then a swipe or press on the screen changes it to the button screen.

Just wondering how difficult is it to get the telemetry data live from rF2 into an Android app and what's required?

I will be using Eclipse for development - I'd say I'm an intermediate programmer having done it in university for the last 3 years this will be my first attempt at an application that I want to do and not a university set application.

Thanks in advance for any help,
    Chris.

2. Cracheur

Cracheur Registered

Hi,

great idea but I'm afraid I can't help you on the technical.
    Here's what I know: you've probably seen this: http://isiforums.net/f/showthread.php/1573-Tutorials-Modding-Downloads

Otherwise, some guy from http://www.symprojects.com/ mentioned that the plugin system was similar to rf1. So maybe you can look for manuals for rf1 plugins in the meantime.
    http://www.eksimracing.com/ have just released an Android app supporting RF2.

If you need a beta tester for your work: I have a Galaxy Tab 10.1 and a Samsung Galaxy Nexus.

Good luck with your project!

3. Chris English

Chris English Registered

Hey,
    Thanks for the links :) They should help.

Will have a look at the example plugin - I thought that thread was just for car/track modders so thanks for turning my attention to it again. :)

If I need someone to test will give you a shout. If my tutor won't give me the go-ahead for it then I'll do one anyway in the summer. :p

4. JJStrack

JJStrack Registered

Hey this sounds great! i could also test with a Galaxy Tab 10.1 and Samsung Galaxy Ace 5830...are you planning on bluetooth or USB connection?

5. Chris English