A possible problem with simple editing of RF2 files

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MarcG, Jan 15, 2012.

1. Denstjiro

Denstjiro Registered

i'm not very technical so i'm not entirely sure what to make of this so here's a potentialy silly question:

My league has the habbit of tweaking a mod to our needs, usualy same pitspeeds for all tracks, pre-heated tires, allow for suspension repairs and re-fueling in classic cars, that kinda stuff.
    in rf1 this would be a single zip for members to install.

I understand this is no longer the same routine but we can no longer update a mod but have to re-pack the entire mod and give it a new ID?
    Instead of -what i asumed innitialy- just ID the update-zip?

Cheers

2. Johannes Rojola

Johannes Rojola Registered

Denstjiro,

If I understanded correctly, only original author of the mod can do those changes.

3. Denstjiro

Denstjiro Registered

Thx Johannes,

Even if we would submit the entire mod including our own files?
    (as per usual routine where leagues use tweaked mods for league-only use and don't distribute it outside their league),

4. jubuttib

jubuttib Registered

No, you'd have to make a virtual mod referencing the car and track components you're going to use. You can include existing components and change the files you need changed, and only pack those as a single rfmod. You'll need a modID for it to work online, but that's not a problem. Then just get that rfmod to everyone in the league and presto.

5. jubuttib

jubuttib Registered

With the menu system as it is and 50 or so mods... Very big mess. However the menu system is modular, and I have 0 doubt that modders will come up with a more user friendly one for managing more information. Even an rF1 style menu works quite well with 50 mods (my old one had 89 in it's heyday).

6. BobDobbs

BobDobbs Registered