Scripting/programming cars?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Tom Servo, Jun 18, 2011.

1. Tom Servo

Tom Servo Registered

I'm new to rFactor and actually waiting for the upcoming sequel (didn't like rFactor 1). I'm also interested in car creation.

Here's what I wondering, since this is supposedly to be a mod-friendly sim... Ever considered implementing some sort of simple scripting language for the actual car simulation? Various top-end cars have intricate traction and stability control systems. Having some sort of scripting possibilities that run next to the physics simulation would be great. Scripts could take input from various sensors, do their calculations and adjust various clutches, power distribution, suspension characteristics, and so on. Car modders could make use of this and try to create approximations of various systems.

A good example would for instance be the Nissan GT-R, which has a pretty extensive control system, yet no game simulates any aspect of it at all.

2. ZeosPantera

ZeosPantera Registered

I do wonder about this sometimes. Computers in modern race cars are vitally important. Matching what they do accurately is as important as correct steering geometry or engine power delivery.

3. IMSA GTP

IMSA GTP Registered

I'm not entirely sure of what you're really looking for in a way.

If you're looking for a script generator for physics, I've done that. Its more of a configurator. Generates HDV, TBC, and PM files in one session, and Eng.ini, gears.ini, and sfx files in another. It really helps to understand the details of how the car really drives, and it still takes a few hours of on track tweaking to get each car right.

I've used that on the IMSA GT mod and there are close to 100 models in it. They drive very realistically yet quite competitively within the class of the chosen vehicle.

4. ZeosPantera

ZeosPantera Registered