Rfactor2 The VR thread -settings & tips

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Adrianstealth, Apr 30, 2017.

1. diegopl2

diegopl2 Registered

Hi, I have the HP Reverb G2. And I have both the memories and the cpu tighter than the screws of a submarine. I've read that VR benefits a lot from the X3D cache of the ryzen 5800X3D, so I guess it will do much better with the upcoming 7000 series X3D. I'll keep an eye on the benchs when they come out.

The only stutter issues I had were related to MSI Afterburner, it seems that this app doesn't play very well with VR. It took a few weeks until I found out what caused them by this application.

DJChrizz and EricW like this.
  2. EricW

EricW Registered

I think you will find huge improvement.
    I have little experience with the current AMD chips, but it sounds very promising.
    Recently went for 4090 and 13700KF, literally transformed the experience.

Last edited: Feb 11, 2023
  3. JParra

JParra Registered

Hello again.
    With my Quest 2 and my old GTX 1080 I usually use a FOV of 0.7 in the Oculus Debug Tool (ODT) in order to get decent performance/quality in rF2.

The FOV is a parameter that after being set by hand in ODT you have to close the OculusLink (Cable or Wifi) for it to take effect and it cannot be saved like other ODT parameters. In other words, if you do not remember to do it before connecting the viewer to the PC, you have to exit and re-enter after making the change.

The improvement is brutal so it doesn't hurt to do it every time, but...

The Oculus Tray Tool (OTT) app has two ways to assign this FOV, one in a general way and another by creating a profile per game.

The method of assigning it by profile does not make sense and not works, because when it detects the game the headset must already be connected and it does not apply the change.