[WIP] rFactor2 export scripts for Blender 2.80+

Discussion in 'Third Party Content' started by Traveller, Dec 6, 2020.

1. Lobsang

Lobsang Registered

I'm very new to this - this is my first 3d model ever and used and learning blender at the same time.
    But I ended up smashing together some lidar data with drone imagery and my local kart track

So I'm not 100% sure if this is because I've gone about things the hard way or whether its an issue with the latest Blender 2.93.2

My first step was to try and export the track to GMT and I get
    "NoneType has no attribute type

Any tips for a noob?

Attached Files:

2. dxp_rlong

dxp_rlong Registered

Okay, looks like it is time for a review of how things work with the export scripts.

There are two types of objects when using the Traveller scripts. First is the basic Blender object, and second is the rFObject. The rFObject is a superset of a basic Blender object.

To be a rFObject, a parent (an Empty) with rFactor 2 metadata is an absolute requirement. This metadata is contained in Custom Properties attached to the Empty. The more typical mesh data is contained in the child of the parent. Both parent and child are needed in order to export a proper GMT. Without the parent, the export script will report an error because vital rF metadata is not available.

Much like a rFObject, rfMaterial is a superset of basic Blender materials. Applying just a Blender material will not be satisfactory. rFMaterial includes a superset of data not found in a basic Blender material. You can start with Add rFactor Object or you can use Add rFactor Material - both automatically add the needed rFMaterial parameters to an rFObject.

Once the scripts are installed and active, there are two methods to create a rFObject: Add rFactor Object -and- Add rFactor Material.