“ are rfactor2 physics broken” video

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GTClub_wajdi, Dec 29, 2020.

1. JamesB

JamesB Registered

A phrase that I heard many years ago while working for a racing team when a tweak to the ride height caused some unexpected side effects was "Oh well its an art not an exact science". Before looking for black and white answers to all questions (like in life itself) it might be worth really thinking about that statement.

Timothy Goya likes this.
  2. mantasisg

mantasisg Registered

Lol, engineer has to know smooth, safe ways out of every situation where he is unsure, wrong or clueless :D

3. JamesB

JamesB Registered

Well I know what that feels like, I am a professional engineer myself but the number of subtle variables that have an effect that you had never even thought of let alone tried to understand can have an unexpected impact even when you are SURE you have done the engineering!

4. David O'Reilly

David O'Reilly Registered

True statement that its part art, part science but some basic principles and basic phenomena are quite clear.

5. JamesB

JamesB Registered

Exactly, but because the result you EXPECTED is not the one you observed you need to look deeper before dismissing the reality as flawed. It does all come down to physics and engineering if you go far enough into it but the effects can often seem at odds with the theory.

cristianuk likes this.
  6. mantasisg

mantasisg Registered

I am unsure what exactly we are talkign about right now. But in reality it is probably alright to let things "just happen" and going super scientific and digging deep into stuff is not necessary, especially in non academic environment. However, in simulation we have more reason to understand everything in more detail, in case if we talk about wheter something is realistic and not just simply assume it being realistic because we are fans of a simulation.

7. JamesB

JamesB Registered