Occasional Freeze/Studder

Discussion in 'Technical & Support' started by TheSuisseExpress, Jun 16, 2020.

1. TheSuisseExpress

TheSuisseExpress Registered

Hi all,

I've been playing Rfactor 2 for a few months now (I've racked up 46 hours and counting), but have only recently hit a snag in my racing. Every so often (Maybe every 15 minutes?) I get a quarter to half second freeze where my car stops, but the timing, AI and delta react as if I have suddenly stopped for a split second and then resumed my racing.

I've done some (limited) diagnostics to try and figure out what it is, and I've discovered its definitely a CPU limitation - which makes little sense because, not only am I running a nearly new machine with fairly decent specs (see below), but 95% of the time the bar in the CPU Time display (I think it was that one - the one with the histograms) was never more than 25-30%, but spikes to 100% when the freeze occurs. I'm not pushing the sim especially hard when it comes to field size, only 16 ISI stock cars around a modded Darlington track that I was using as a benchmark to try and track down the problem.

The plot continues to thicken because, as far as I know, there aren't any background programs that could cause such a hiccup (again, brand new computer). I can get the CPU usage down to 1% with only Task Manager open, so there's not a lot to see there. I've tried turning down graphics, but that didn't seem to help, considering I wasn't really pushing them as it was. I do record some of my races, which I though was the cause of this problem, but this was evidently not the issue because my tests today had the freezes, but OBS (recording software) wasn't running, let alone recording. I was listening to a podcast running off YouTube in the background, but this was probably also not the case because a) it was the only tab open, and b) I've had it occur when its just me driving around with AI.