S397 AI Improvements

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Philip00, Mar 8, 2020.

1. Philip00

Philip00 Member

Dear S397 and All,

Recently I installed RFactor 2 again and I was amazed how much the game improved since the last time I played. I am more of an offline gamer that is why the AI behavior is really important for me, and I was really happy to see how much the AI behavior also developed (especially defending behavior and player vs AI collision detection).

Before, I was playing a lot with Automobilista, where the developers put a lot of effort to the AI behavior in the last part of development. As AMS 2 will not support mods, so I kind of lost interest (but I am sure it will be an amzing game). That was the moment I reinstalled RFactor 2 to try it again, since at the moment this is the only game with mods and still in development, and I think this is really important for the gaming community.

As I started playing again a couple weeks ago, as I mentioned before, I was completely amazed, but noticed how much the game could be even better if certain bugs could be fixed and slight developments could be implemented regarding AI. I summarized a couple of suggestions that was available in AMS, which could improve this game into the highest level, not just online, but offline as well.

1. Better overtaking behavior with actually utilizing the draft (slipstream). I saw other threadsd and suggestion regarding this,so I will not go into details.

2. Add function for AI to slightly lift during in and out laps in practice / quali (implement blue flag behavior in quali/practice as well)

3. Add function for AI to lift back to the pits when car has substantial aerodynamic damage. This can be implemented, for example, in HDV there could be an AIDamageLift=0.0 row for this setting or fixed in other ways globally.