Input lag

Discussion in 'Technical & Support' started by FORMULAEFAN71, Jan 1, 2020.

1. FORMULAEFAN71

FORMULAEFAN71 Registered

idk if this has already been brought up/solved but I have a Thrustmaster TMX that I just set up but there is an input lag whenever I steer (I don’t think this lag is also with the throttle/brake). I tried messing with the steering sensitivity and steering rate but nothing with the lag changed

computer system settings?: (have no idea what they mean but could be helpful for someone who does)
    (found in “video res” panel in options menu)

intel core i7-6700hq cpu @ 2.60 GHz
    Resolution: 1929 x 1080
    Refresh rate: 60 Hz
    Anti aliasing: level 1
    Sync: off
    Fxaa: off
    Sorry if I made you cringe because I’m so nooby

2. Lazza

Lazza Registered

Usually video settings, unless you have your wheel plugged into a USB hub. Also check your screen/monitor settings, any sort of processing (smoothing, sharpening, contrast enhancement etc) will add output lag.

Last edited: Jan 1, 2020
  3. stonec

stonec Registered

Also check you don't have steering aid (F1) enabled by accident, this sometimes happens to me and make sure speed sensitivity is 0% in controller settings, this adds a sort of filter to steering inputs when at high speeds.

Lazza likes this.
  4. FORMULAEFAN71

FORMULAEFAN71 Registered

@Lazza i do have it plugged into a USB port

5. Lazza

Lazza Registered

Just to be clear, the wheel should be plugged directly into the PC, and preferably on the back (front ports should generally be ok, but sometimes they're poor - so rear is safer).

A USB hub plugs into the PC, and allows you to plug multiple devices into it - that's what you don't want to use for a wheel or other input device.