Suspension Issue

Discussion in 'Car Modding' started by rFactor2seminoob, Sep 17, 2019.

1. rFactor2seminoob

rFactor2seminoob Registered

Just to clarify, I am quite new to modding in rFactor 2, so please be patient.

After messing around in pTool to understand what everything does, I decided to actually modify a car's physics to see what happens! I chose the ASR Formula SAE car because the suspension isn't very complex. However, after modifying the ini file and the pm file, the car started to do weird things...

After editing the pm file to correspond with the ini file, the car's steering seem to do little to no affect(I did adjust the steering arm), but at least the car can go forward and backward. So I decided to edit part of the HDV to try to correct the steering. However by this time, the car started to do what the video is showing.

I no longer have any ideas about how to move forward with this issue, so any ideas will be appreciated. Let me know if you want to see any of the data files.

Things I changed in the HDV:
    - Trackwidth
    - Wheel base
    - Changed a steering spinet that I got from: http://meetme.bplaced.net/rF2_onlineTools/rF2GGeninfo/rf2steering.php

Video of the issue:

2. Lazza

Lazza Registered

I would go back to the start. It's easier than trying to work out what's gone wrong.

One thing that worries me is you talking about the .pm and the .ini file - the chassis.ini file should replace the .pm. When the .ini reference is in the HDV the .pm should do nothing.

Assuming you started with a working chassis.ini file, forget the pm. But then be careful about what you change, be sure to have a reason to change it and think about possible consequences. Steering arm is a good example of something where an apparently small adjustment can have a big influence.

3. Bernd

Bernd Registered

If you have used the steering tool from chris's online tools site, you seem to have used it after you have edited some files manually.